Herbert Distel – La Stazione


Thursday October 13, 2011
Encounter with Herbert Distel 7.30 pm
Transmission 9.00 pm
Hangar Bicocca - Via Privata Chiese 2 - Milan - Free entrance

The first live transmission in Italy of La Stazione by Herbert Distel (*1942, Bern), an essential contribution in the field of concrete ‘ambient’ musical composition and one of the most important episodes in the history of the relationship between contemporary art, conceptual practices and music. La Stazione was composed in 1987 starting from audio recordings at the Stazione Centrale in Milan.

In 1987 the Swiss artist Herbert Distel realized a series of field recordings inside the Central Station in Milan, that constituted the basis for the creation of an experimental work in five parts divided into two acts. Considered one of the masterpieces of concrete ‘ambient’ music, La Stazione was created following the model of the work La Collina (1947) by Mario Peragallo and was based on the Spoon River Anthology.

Each of the five parts is dedicated to a famous Italian personage:

Trecentocinquantatre (Arturo Schwarz)

Torino-Ritardo (Matilda von Meysenbug)

Capocaponeralearti (Federico Paternina, a producer of Rioja wine)

Transeuropexpress (Teresita Fontana, Lucio Fontana’s widow)

Diretto – Binario sette (Valeria Manzoni, Piero Manzoni’s mother)

The subtitles of each of the parts are based on the announcements made in the railway station, that mix with a continuous music background. Contemporaneously one can recognize the sound of trains clattering, doors closing, various announcements, whistle-blows of train conductors and people running. All these sources of sound have been developed and stratified, thus giving form to a single sound landscape, with an auratic and oneiric combination between industrial sounds and reverberations.


Susan Philipsz “Seven Tears”

Ludwig Forum Aachen
July 10 – September 25, 2011

This summer the Scottish artist and Turner Prize winner, Susan Philipsz, transforms a visit to the Ludwig Forum into an intense and surprising sound experience. The exhibition, created especially for Aachen, is entitled “Seven Tears” and opens on July 10. For the exhibition in Aachen, Susan Philipsz has brought together seven historical pieces of music from the late sixteenth and early seventeenth centuries. All of the pieces are sung by the artist a cappella.

Often Philipsz installs her work in unexpected corners of the public realm: under a bridge during 2007’s Sculpture Projects Muenster; in the Shrine of the Nymphs near the base of Athens’ Acropolis for the 2006 exhibition ‘The Grand Promenade’; in a hillside shelter for the forthcoming Folkestone Triennial; or piped through the speakers of a Tesco supermarket to unsuspecting shoppers.